Tuesday, November 27, 2012

A little about me and my family.

My name is Cindie, and I'm the mother to two wonderful little boys!  My husband and I are 26 years old and have celebrated 7 wonderful years of marriage. Our son TJ just turned 4 a few months back and his little brother Mason turns 3 this next month. They're a planned 16 months apart. TJ has got EHK, or Epidermolytic Hyperkeratosis which is a form of Ichthyosis and Down Syndrome. His brother Mason is typical, without the skin disorder.

My husband and I are ALSO Christians who are pro-life and teach both the children ASL, American Sign Language. My husband is learning right along with the kids.. :)
TJ was declared hard of hearing his first 3 years and god prepared me for him when I moved to California at 15 and began learning sign language from a deaf friend up the street. My mother is also an ASL interpreter who helps teach me and the kids and she's a wonderful grandmother. God also prepared me by giving me a love of anything medically related from the age of maybe 8 or 9 years old and the ability to learn and easily understand and retain medical knowledge. It helped my husband out when TJ was born and we had to listen to all the stuff the doctors said during rounds in the NICU...

We actually bought our first house a year ago and are slowly turning it into what we will love. The goal in the next 5 years, after hopefully having one last child is for me to get into college and start nursing school to eventually become an RN, most likely in the Peds department.